AUTHOR INTERVIEW: L.C. Perry

Meet L.C. Perry, the author behind the Metamorphosis and the Bronze Rebellion series. The Bronze Rebellion series is L.C. Perry’s latest work. Currently, only two of the books are out in the market but that does not meet we can’t anticipate the third one. We had the opportunity to interview the author and it was great hearing what she had to say!

BRONZE REBELLION


In the North American continent, eighteen year old Ebony has been living as a slave for as long as she can remember. The underground cities, the tattoo, the scars and the shackles are a part of the only world she has ever known. She knows that in order to survive, she will have to stay strong. And she will stay strong, cursing those in power, until her very last breath. She waits for a meaningful way to die as she quietly pushes her body to its limit…but that all changes when rebels from the surface drop down right in front of her. 

Now, Ebony is challenged to envision a life beyond slavery as she and the other escapees are thrown into the center of a rebellion against the monarchy. She has to embrace this glimmer towards a real life…this glimmer called freedom. But what can she contribute to a rebellion that is doomed to fail like those before it? How can they stop a corrupt monarchy that has lasted for a century? Among the lower class, those with hope are hard to come by, but Ebony has found refuge with people full of it. And through their strong desire, an idea emerges…one that has never been done before. The princess of the country is coming of age and what better way to send a message to the king and queen than to kidnap their only daughter?


GOODREADS

REVIEW                                                REVIEW

INTERVIEW

1. What inspired you to write the Bronze Rebellion series?
The series started out with two ideas: slavery and Ebony. I wanted to write a main character that came off as cold but strong, which was a main character I’ve never written before. Thus, Ebony was born. I also wanted to write more about an issue I was really passionate about and wholly against. Slavery came into mind and I started writing from there. I think there were a number of factors that inspired me along the way, but these were two ideas that suddenly popped into my head after one of my creative writing workshops and they ended up sticking.
2. Describe the Bronze Rebellion series in 3 words.
Intimate. Raw. Powerful.
3. Comparing this series to the first novel you’ve written, what was the biggest change? 
The biggest change I would have to say is my writing style. From my very first novel to my fantasy series, my writing style was very different and from my fantasy series to the Bronze Rebellion series, my writing had become much more advanced.
4. Was there a character that you related to the most? 
I think I put traits of myself in multiple characters. I can relate to Ebony’s stubbornness and Paige’s friendliness just as much as I can with quiet characters like Levi and tall people like Tristan. I’m honestly not sure if I can relate to one more than the others.
5. Do you have a favourite character in the series?
For the longest time, I actually didn’t have an answer to that question. This is the first time I’ve ever written a series with so many characters and all of them have grown very important to me. But if I had to choose just one, it’s probably Asher. There’s just so much layered over his character and he’s a very complicated individual. I love him for everything that he is and what he represents. The fact that he’s so flawed just adds another dimension to him.
6. If the characters were real, is there a character that you will not be able to get along with?
As much as I love Harper, chances are she would not like me in person! She would definitely see me as an easy person to pick on.
7. What are your goals as an author?
As an author, I want to give readers characters they can connect to. I also want to create stories that have never been done before. In other words, my goal is to bring diversity into the YA genre – both in representation and in plotlines. I’ve always been more fascinated in unique ideas and I know that there are many readers who are looking for that. Hopefully, I’ll be able to live up to their expectations.
8. Lastly, when will your next book be released?
I plan to release the last two books within a month or two from each other so the third book, Agate Memory, will be released in November while the final book is set to be released in December or January.

It was great interviewing L.C. Perry. I absolutely loved Gold Shadow and I loved Emerald Dream a lot more. The storyline is getting more interesting and there are tons of unexpected things happening. It is never too late to get your own copy of the books!


SKAVANSIEUR is now offering author interviews (questions regarding the author) and book interviews (questions regarding your book). Email skavansieur@gmail.com for any inquiries.

Leave a comment