MINI REVIEWS (#2): From my shelf

It has definitely been a while since I’ve posted. I didn’t feel like writing, which made reviewing difficult and had created a backlog of books to review. While I was gone, I made a minor dent in my bookshelf, juggling a whole bunch of books ranging from Architecture to Dystopian fiction, to books about writers and even books on design. It was fun to read books on my shelf without the need to write about it. However, I thought that I could just compile it all in a Mini Review (which I haven’t done since last year).

What have you been reading lately?


  1. On the Other Side by Carrie Hope Fletcher

3 stars

I’ve started reading On The Other Side back in January 2019 while I was in Singapore for the holidays. I was a fan of Carrie Hope Fletcher, and had to buy her books, but reading it was a different issue.

I enjoyed the beginning of the book and how the illustrations on the cover made sense as you continue reading. But at one point, it didn’t interest me anymore.

I saw it on my shelf, had it on my bedside table, wrote in my journal that I had to read it but I wasn’t in the mood. Don’t get me wrong, it’s a lovely book and I cried a few times while reading it, but I wasn’t excited to read it for hours and hours.

2. Animal Farm by George Orwell

4 stars

I was looking for a short book to read and remembered that I had borrowed Animal Farm and 1984 from a friend before the pandemic. It took me two tries to finish it, since reading dystopia during a pandemic isn’t the easiest thing to do.

Despite that, I enjoyed reading it, even though I do not understand the historical aspect of it. I cannot contribute to any intellectual conversation about this book, but I am proud to admit that I’ve finished it.

3. The Strange Case of Dr Jekyll and Mr Hyde by Robert Louis Stevenson

4 stars

Prior to reading it, I have heard so much of the story that I didn’t even think I needed to read it. Still, I was curious about the execution. And man, did they executed it well.

I went into this thinking that the story would be told from the perspective of Dr Jekyll or Mr Hyde, but it was told in the perspective of someone else, to my surprise. It made me doubt everything that I knew about the book.

This book left me on the edge, especially since most of us knew that Dr Jekyll and Mr Hyde were the same person. It made me fear for his safety, especially when they were hunting down Mr Hyde.

Although I enjoyed it very much, I can’t remember it very well.

4. Malice by Keigo Higashino

5 stars

I finished this book in less than 24 hours and man, this book was great. If it were to be the best book I’ll read in 2021, I’d read it again in a heartbeat.

It opens like a normal mystery. Some characters hanging out, one of them dies, there are some suspects, etc blah, normal things. But one of the characters in this book is a writer, so it made sense for them to record down the events, since it might be an inspiration for a future book. That writer trade notes with the detective, and you are able to read and compare both the writer and the detective’s notes.

As a reader, you know the thoughts and opinions of both parties, and you’ll feel like you are also a detective, since they share their notes with you.

The ending is well though out. It made sense, it was clear, and it was predictable. But the journey, the multiple twist and turns, that’s the best part of this book.


I hope you are having a good time reading! Many places are slowly opening up again. For my country, I don’t think that would be any time soon, so I’ll probably be stuck indoors and reading, ideally.

Till then!

-J

5 thoughts on “MINI REVIEWS (#2): From my shelf

Leave a comment